FacebookTwitterTumblrYouTubeWhale ReportInstagramPinterestSpotifyVine

#SpotifySunday: Muscle Shoals Playlist

clock September 15, 2013
#SpotifySunday: Muscle Shoals Playlist

Republic Records will release the official soundtrack album for the acclaimed music documentary, “Muscle Shoals“, on September 24.

Aretha Franklin, Wilson Pickett, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Alicia Keys, Paul Simon, and many more recorded at the studios, and they’re all represented on the soundtrack by some of their most recognizable hits as well as a never before heard track from Alicia. This collection embodies the magical spirit of the area and legacy it forged. It’s the perfect companion to the film and a wonderful window into Muscle Shoals.

Here’s a peek at what’s to come:


1.       Arthur Alexander “You Better Move On”

2.       Jimmy Hughes “Steal Away”

3.       Percy Sledge “When A Man Loves A Woman”

4.       Aretha Franklin “I Never Loved A Man (The Way That I Love You)”

5.       Etta James “Tell Mama”

6.       Clarence Carter “Patches”

7.       Wilson Pickett “Hey Jude”

8.       Lynyrd Skynyrd “Free Bird” (Original Muscle Shoals Version)

9.       The Staple Singers “I’ll Take You There”

10.     Jimmy Cliff “Sitting In Limbo”

11.      Traffic “(Sometimes I Feel So) Uninspired”

12.     Paul Simon “Kodachrome”

13.     Alicia Keys “Pressing On”

Bookmark and Share

New Releases